What & Who Defines a Generation of AV?

BDrake

Akiba Citizen
Sep 29, 2015
I'm relatively new to AV. I started about 5 years ago but didn't start actually keeping videos until 3 years ago. At that time, Ai Uehara, Yui Hatano, Hibiki Otsuki and Haruki Sato seemed to be the biggest names. Between then and now, Ayumi Shinoda, Aika and Kaho Kasumi became more popular.

So my questions are:
1) Are AV generations defined by a set number of years?
2) How do you break up a generation of AV?
3) How would you break it up based on stars?
4) Do you break it up based on advancements in technology?
5) Would you break it up according to themes or direction?

silent1one

Dec 10, 2016
I'm relatively new to AV. I started about 5 years ago but didn't start actually keeping videos until 3 years ago. At that time, Ai Uehara, Yui Hatano, Hibiki Otsuki and Haruki Sato seemed to be the biggest names. Between then and now, Ayumi Shinoda, Aika and Kaho Kasumi became more popular.

So my questions are:

It's hard to really answer these Q's. some newbies retire and fade away after a year or two after their debuts and some last a decade with few hiatus/comeback. It really depends if you're talking about dividing girls according to their debut age/year or in other ways.

Original ebisu muscat and current ebisu muscat can sort of draw a fine line between two eras except the leaders of each group are a bit older. Original-Sora aoi, yuma asami, akiho, rio, mihiro, aino kishi, and many more that started in the early and late 2000's and lasted at least 7 years each. Honorable mentions like Kaera Uehara and Saori Hara(minor ex-celeb before av) sort of fit in this era as well.