Encoding assistance for corrupted JAV DVD-ISO [Warning: 18+ content]

• Throughout the month of April 2024, participate in the FileJoker Thread Contest OPEN TO EVERYONE!

From 1st to 30th of April 2024, members can earn cash rewards by posting Filejoker-Exclusive threads in the Direct-Downloads subforums.

There are $1000 in prizes, and the top prize is $450!

For the full rules and how to enter, check out the thread
  • Akiba-Online is sponsored by FileJoker.

FileJoker is a required filehost for all new posts and content replies in the Direct Downloads subforums.

Failure to include FileJoker links for Direct Download posts will result in deletion of your posts or worse.

For more information see
    this thread.

branbran726

Nov 5, 2021
I've acquired a few old copied DVDs that came with corrupted segments that make ripping them difficult. I'm not an expert with Handbrake or MeGUI, so I don't know if there's some way to skip over the broken bits. Playing the DVDs directly has the same result as playing a mounted ISO, so I don't think I can improve the sources beyond what I've got.

The DVDs will usually play until the corruption and freeze, but if you skip to a chapter in the DVD on the other side of the corruption they will continue to play without further issue.

I would love it if someone with greater skill could take a look and produce good rips of them.

For now, here is one of the affected DVDs that I've already put on Filejoker. If there's someone willing to assist, I may upload other DVDs I've had issues with.

DV-383 My copy has an error just over 1h51m in. Handbrake will encode to that point and quit. I just started using MeGUI, so I could be messing it up, but trying to follow the same procedure I've been successful with on other DVDs gave me an error of "too many pictures", whatever that means.
53dv383pl.jpg
DV-383.zip.001 (900.0 Mb)
DV-383.zip.002 (900.0 Mb)
DV-383.zip.003 (900.0 Mb)
DV-383.zip.004 (770.8 Mb)

SamKook

Grand Wizard
Staff member