Cant reach some download sites

franklee

Range Rider
Mar 6, 2008
Howdy all. I am having a problem and wonder if someone knows what is going on. Remember I am no techie, just an old cowboy with poor eyesight and a cheap computer. I am running firefox 7.01 on a windows 7 OS. For some reason for the last two days I cannot load the linked pages in filesonic, wupload, depositffiles, or rapidshare. Although I have never had trouble with these sites before when I try to open the links now my browser grinds away and then gives me the message that the site takes too long to respond.

Uploadstation and megaupload seem to work fine and both require javascript to navigate so I have discounted a problem, with my Java. I thought maybe these sites were down but no one else is reporting any troubles. I am now stumped. Any suggestions from the more tech-savvy among you?

Thanks
Franklee

javhoarder

Consumer of Hard Disks
Sep 20, 2011
I've had no such issues with Filesonic or Wupload.

There might be an issue with routing to those hosts. Open up a command prompt (start>run>cmd.exe), flush your DNS cache with "ipconfig /flushdns" and then type "tracert wupload.com". It should complete successfully.

If there's an error in the middle or you can't resolve the address, you may try using Google DNS.

Also, I suppose aggressive Antivirus/firewall software may be blocking those domains. You could try temporarily disabling what you're running to see if it helps. My antivirus (ESET NOD32) has a web filter, which has caused problems with certain applications.

--

This post should be in the "Tech Support" subforum as the problem isn't directly related to Akiba.

isityours

People don't dance no mo'
Sep 27, 2008
i tried OpenDNS recently and it blocked a download site.