1. Akiba-Online is sponsored by FileJoker.

FileJoker is a required filehost for all new posts and content replies in the Direct Downloads subforums.

Failure to include FileJoker links for Direct Download posts will result in deletion of your posts or worse.

For more information see
    this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

External hard drive

Discussion in 'Chatterbox' started by secrets002, Nov 30, 2017.

1. secrets002

secrets002 Member

If this is the wrong place to post this the mods can move this post to the appropriate section of this message board.Is getting a 4tb external hard drive for storing JAV a good beginning? How much JAV can I store in a 4TB external drive?I don't want to store JAV on my computer, I just want to watch it on my computer. I am new at downloading JAV.

2. Lodestar

Lodestar Member

A 4TB drive will give you roughly ~3,700GB in space.

If you're taking blu-ray discs out of cases and ripping them onto the drive without compressing the size of the video file - a rough estimate might be 150-250 videos.
    An average blu-ray rip can be anywhere from 15-35GB but my experience on file size is more with movies than JAV and I would expect an average non-compilation JAV to be on lower end of scale: 15-25GB.

If you're looking at videos that have been reduced in quality to make them a more manageable size, you can store a lot more. But again file size varies greatly depending on quality of the picture, length, etc... Most files will fall between 500MB and 6GB.
    So that puts it anywhere from ~600 to thousands.

All you're going to get from us is estimates. The question here is: how much do you value visual quality in your JAV?
    The more you value it the smaller the # of JAVs you will be able to store. We're still talking hundreds of videos bare minimum (assuming you're not ripping blu-ray discs and keeping them in original format) which should be thousands of hours of footage for you to go through.

CoolKevin likes this.
  3. secrets002