WMV to MKV Re-encoding Help

savajex

pretty girl lover
Aug 11, 2012
I have a bunch of HQ WMVs that I'd like to re-encode to MKVs of lower quality because they take up way too much HD space. The WMVs have a CBR of 2000 Kbps and 30 fps but ideally I'd like to get it down to around 1000 Kbps.

I use MeGUI and Sharktooth's x264 profile but the audio and video in the resulting MKV are out of sync. And progressively out of sync, not just delay. I've tried demuxing and muxing with MKVmerge, adjusting delay and timecode, but no good.

I've researched this for hours and I can't help thinking I'm doing something really wrong during the encoding process. I'm a complete noob at encoding so if anyone could help me with either WMV->MKV encoding for MeGUI or this audio sync issue, I'll be tremendously grateful! :bow-pray:

SamKook

Grand Wizard
Staff member
Super Moderator
Uploader
May 10, 2009
I'm guessing MeguI is using directshow or something like that to load the wmv which isn't very good at keeping audio in sync for encoding.

If you can find how to specify FFVideoSource for the video and FFAudioSource for the audio in the avisynth script created by MeguI or ffmpegsource2 somewhere in the settings you would have a lot more chances of keeping it in sync.

I don't like to use GUI for encoding since I find that they often lack configurability and add a layer of instability, so I can't really help you with how to achieve that with MeguI.
But if you would be interested in installing avisynth and a few softwares manually, I could modify my usual encoding script so that a simple drag and drop would reencode it.

Let me know if you're interested in the script or not.
You would need to install :Avisynth(and the ffmpegsource2 filter), x264, avs2pipemod, neroAACcodec and mkvtoolnix which you can find links and detailed explanation in the "Auto Encoding to Posting" tutorial in my sig.

savajex

pretty girl lover
Aug 11, 2012
Yes! Yesyesyesyesyes! Please! :please: